top of page

Hagenheim Series

The Hagenheim Series is a fantastic Catholic historical book series for middle schoolers and teens about romance, growing more assertive in your faith, and adventure! Each book is based on a different fairy tale, for example, Sleeping Beauty, Beauty and the Beast, Snow White, Cinderella, and The Little Mermaid. All of Melanie Dickerson's books are clean and enjoyable to read! I absolutely love the Hagenheim Series, and I am so glad that my cousin recommended it to me!! I have read most of these books two or three times, and they get better each time. I hope you all enjoy this series as much as I did!!!


Book 1: The Healer's Apprentice

Age Range: 13 and up

This is a creative retelling of a classic fairy tell of Sleeping Beauty. A young healer's apprentice named Rose vows that she will never get married until she meets Lord Hamlin, the future ruler of her Village. Lord Hamlin is everything a girl could want. He's kind, understanding, and has great faith in God.


Book 2: The Merchant's Daughter

Age Range: 12 and up

The Merchant's Daughter is based on the fairy tale of Beauty and the Beast. Annabelle was once a wealthy Merchant's daughter, but now she and her family are poor and have been doing nothing to help their town. Now that there is a new Lord of the town, her family must either get punishment or give service.


Book 3: The Fairest Beauty

Age Range: 13 and up

The Fairest Beauty is based on the known story of Snow White. Sophie, a known beauty and servant of the evil queen, will do anything to escape the horrible life she has. The only problem with running is that the queen would never let her and kill Sophie before she got the chance.


Book 4: The Captive Maiden

Age Range: 13 and up

Based on the story of Cinderella. Gisela had a very happy childhood, with a loving father, the best horses in the land, and even a visit from the Duke and his oldest son. But then her father remarried and died, leaving Gisela to a cruel stepmother and two stepsisters.


Book 5: The Silent Songbird

Age Range: 12 and up

Evangeline, the King's cousin and ward, has had a life of fine foods and magnificent clothing, but she has lived a very sheltered life. She is not allowed to leave the castle because the King is afraid that somebody might steal or marry Evangeline, so most people don't know that the King has a cousin.


Book 6: The Silent Songbird

Age Range: 13 and up

Margaretha, the Duke's oldest daughter, has had more suitors than she could count, but none of them were quite right. She hopes that her current suitor, Lord Claybrook, is the one that respects, loves, and wants her for her and not because she is the Duke's daughter.


Book 7: The Golden Braid

Age Range: 13 and up

In this Rapunzel fairytale remaking, Rapunzel lives the life of a poor nineteen-year-old girl who wants nothing more in life than to learn how to read. She lives alone with her extremely overprotective mother, who tells Rapunzel to trust no one, especially men.


Book 8: The Orphan's Wish

Age Range: 13 and up

At the age of five, Aladdin is orphaned and alone, forced to steal to live until a priest from a distant land called Germany gives him a new life in Hagenheim. Notwithstanding Aladdin’s low status as a poor orphan, he quickly becomes best friends with Lady Kirstyn, the daughter of the Duke of Hagenheim.


Book 9: The Warrior Maiden

Age Range: 13 and up

The prophecy foretold her incredible journey, but is she willing to put her whole life on the line for her mother and her country? After her father dies, Mulan has two options: either get married to the town butcher or fight, while pretending to be a boy, in her father's place against the Teutonic Knights.


Book 10: The Piper's Pursuit

Age Range: 13 and up

Katerina finds threats to her village everywhere she looks. Disgusting rats take up every street corner, the poor children are going missing, and a beast is killing people. Katerina's evil stepfather, who is in charge of the whole village, does nothing but offer her hand in marriage to who kills the beast.


Book 11: The Peasant's Dream

Age Range: 13 and up

This is a reverse Cinderella. Adela is the youngest daughter in her family, has been left by all her brothers and sisters who are all happily married, and lives in the castle, rarely allowed to leave. All she wants is to travel the world and paint but decides to start small and visit in secret her town dressed as a peasant.


If you have read the Hagenheim Series, let me know in the comments below. I'd love to hear your thoughts! Do you have a book you want to be reviewed? Let me know, and I'll add it to my list! Thanks for stopping by. I'm glad you're here!!





Thanks for submitting!

Do you like A Catholic Girl Reads? Subscribe to receive an email once every three weeks on my newest clean books, series, and lists!

Featured Posts:
bottom of page