top of page

Lunar Chronicles

The Lunar Chronicles is one of my favorite book series!!! Each book is based on a classic fairy tale in a new and exciting Sci-Fi world, including Cinderella, Little Red Riding Hood, Rapunzel, and Snow White. Marissa Meyer does an excellent job writing the stories and making the reader feel like they are right there in all of the action! This series is primarily clean except for violence, which is kind of gory in the book Winter, and some romance. When I finally finished the Lunar Chronicles, I almost cried; I was so sad the series ended. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who likes Sci-Fi, Romance, or FairyTale remakings! Check out my reviews for more details on each book and things to mention!!


Book 1: Cinder

Age Range: 12 and up

Cinder is a Cinderella futuristic remake about a gifted mechanic girl who is also a cyborg. The cyborgs are second class citizens who have some mechanical parts in their bodies. Seeing an android walk down the street is just as normal as seeing a human in her world.


Book 2: Scarlet

Age Range: 13 and up

Based on the fairy tale Little Red Riding Hood, Scarlet Benoit is trying to find her missing grandmother, who she suspects is in grave danger. In her search, she encounters Wolf, a street fighter who has information on her grandmother's whereabouts. With the help of Cinder, they travel earth.


Book 3: Cress

Age Range: 13 and up

Based on the fairytale story of Rapunzel. Cress is a lunar shell, a person who is lunar but does not have the lunar gift. She has been isolated and prisoned in a satellite for most of her life. She has nothing to do but hack on the Internet for information to queen Levana but then Cress is told to find Cinder.


Book 4: Winter

Age Range: 14 and up

Based on the story of Snow White. Winter, the stepdaughter of Queen Levana, is known throughout the universe for her beauty, kindness, grace, and craziness. Winter is disgusted with everything that her stepmother the Queen does and rebels from everything Luna stands for.


Book 4.5: Stars Above

Age Range: 13/14 and up

Stars Above has nine stories about our heroes in the Lunar Chronicles. We learn about their pasts and, at the end of the book, their futures. The last story, Something Old, Something New, is an epilogue to Winter where Cinder and her friends gather for a wedding.


If you have read the Lunar Chronicles, let me know in the comments below. I'd love to hear your thoughts! Do you have a book you want to be reviewed? Let me know, and I'll add it to my list! Thanks for stopping by. I'm glad you're here.





Thanks for submitting!

Do you like A Catholic Girl Reads? Subscribe to receive an email once every three weeks on my newest clean books, series, and lists!

Featured Posts:
bottom of page