top of page

Five Little Peppers Series

The Five Little Peppers series is a creative and entertaining book series for children, tweens, and teens about five poor children who grow into adults living lives they never thought possible. The whole series is delightful and kept me laughing and wanting more. When you're reading the story, you feel like you're getting to know the characters and that they could be actual people. I loved the five siblings, but especially Polly, the oldest daughter, and second oldest kid. Polly was so sweet and always trying to help everyone around her, and because of that, she gained opportunities in life that she wouldn't have if she were rude, mean, or unkind.

The Pepper family was so poor that they could barely afford food and couldn't send the kids to school because they needed them to work, but the family was still happy. They were always helping each other and never got angry or frustrated when something didn't go their way. This series is an excellent way of showing children how a family should look! I only read three books in this series, but I heard all of the other ones were good. The Five Little Peppers series is one of my favorite children's book series that I hope you all read and enjoy!


Book 1: Five Little Peppers and How They Grew

Age Range: 8 and up

Five Little Peppers and How They Grew is a delightful classic that shows a low-income family and how they make the best things. The five pepper children live with their mother in a little brown house out in the country and try to have happy lives, despite being so poor that they can barely afford flour.


Book 2: Five Little Peppers Midway

Age Range: 9 and up

Five Little Peppers Midway is the second in the Five Little Peppers Series that's adored and loved by all who read it. Taken place five years after the first book, the Peppers are now living full time at Mr. King's house and, for the most part, are very happy. Polly works hard every day at the piano and tells stories and outs on plays for all.


Book 3: Five Little Peppers Grown Up

Age Range: 10 and up

The Pepper children have grown up with Ben being in his early 20s to Phonsie being 13. The story mainly follows Polly and her world of piano teaching, friends, and romance. Ben works for a company, Joel and Davie are at college, and Phronsie runs an orphanage for poor children with her money from Mrs. Chatterton.


If you have read the Five Little Peppers Series, let me know in the comments below. I'd love to hear your thoughts! Do you have a book you want to be reviewed? Let me know, and I'll add it to my list! Thanks for stopping by. I'm glad you're here.





Thanks for submitting!

Do you like A Catholic Girl Reads? Subscribe to receive an email once every three weeks on my newest clean books, series, and lists!

Featured Posts:
bottom of page